Corpse Pose for Insomnia?

by magnus26

 

These are the latest from the library. Excited about both of them.

Continuing to drink in several of the guided meditations from the previous post, from the B. Alan Wallace spring 2012 retreat. Amazing, that for free, one can get well over 40 hours of high quality instruction and meditations. Truly phenomenal. Wallace asks that one at least try savassana (corpse pose) for some of these shamatha (or concentration) meditations. I did. And was pleasantly surprised that I did not drift off to sleep. I find that the techniques Wallace follows lead to a rather subtle meditation. Very nice. Quite likely this is just where I am right now.

It is remarkable to me, though, that given a scarcity of work and with depression apparently in the offing on several occasions, I have not succumbed. I attribute this to both my meditation and the running. A good regimen.

As an additional bonus, having sampled from a somewhat evil bottle of aromatic liqueur, Creme de Violette (or whatever it was called) and then found that I woke up at 2:30 a.m. wide awake, and the bonus being I found that the Mindfulness of Breathing meditation, done in corpse pose, was pleasantly refreshing. It certainly beats thrashing around in frustration at not being able to sleep.