Mindfulness of Breathing Meditation, with Commentary

by magnus26

 

In my click clicking I somehow got on the trail of Alan Wallace, a meditation teacher you’ve probably come across at some point. This meditation, which I just now tried, worked really well for me. It’s done lying down. It’s just a basic introduction to the Shamatha practice, a basic concentration practice that is very useful as a precursor to Vipassana practice, as far as my rudimentary understanding of the useful sequence of practices goes.

It’s interesting how the knowledge and even just the turn of phrase of one meditation instructor can make such a difference in the felt experience of the meditation. I think I’ll be following along with a lot of these. Recommended.

You can find the site here. It’s also on iTunes. There, within the Spring 2012 Shamatha Retreat it’s track #92, but is named “3 Mindfulness of Breathing.” The meditation proper starts at 9:05, and lasts a little over 20 minutes.

It remains amazing to me the wealth of what you can find on the internet!

